Skip Navigation

Show Choir for Young Girls

November 21, 2017
By Deb Daley

Mercy High School’s award-winning show choir is hosting a camp for girls in fourth through eighth grades to learn how to sing and dance. The event, Saturday, December 9th from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. will take place at High School, 1501 South 48th St. Cost is $30 with registration due December 4.

Complete details and a required registration is available here. You must return the form and a check to Mercy High School.

Once Upon a Nocturne

November 07, 2017
By Deb Daley

Spirit Week is scheduled for November 13-18 and is sponsored by the Student Council.  This year's theme is "Once Upon a Nocturne," and features friendly competitions between the classes.  Each day features a theme supportive of the overall theme and includes dressing up, contests, dances and hallway decorating. The faculty also gets into the act with costumes and a chili/soup cook off. On Saturday, November 18, the school holds a Nocturne Dance for sophomores, juniors and seniors with tickets costing $10.

Below you will find a schedule for the week as well as the dress code for Nocturne. You can make these larger by clicking on them. 

Students named for Nocturne Court are:


Fia Cohen

Erin Epp

Sophie Harvat

Madeline Riesberg

Mia Rodriguez


Shacty Alvarez-Hurtado

Addie Costello

Mayela Hernandez

Audra Pflug

Olivia Stoffel


Gabbi Caito

Carmen Dailey

Michelle Esquivel-Erazo

Molly Bartek-Miller

Zania Zhang

Dress code. 


Food Sales Near $60,000

November 02, 2017
By Deb Daley

Mercy High School students have sold nearly $60,000 in frozen food to help fund its Negotiated Tuition Program. This individualized student tuition program is tailored to each family’s financial ability. Providing all girls the opportunity to go to the all-girls, college-bound school is part of the school’s mission, founded by the Sisters of Mercy. The school wishes to thank everyone who supported this effort.

The gigantic food pick up is scheduled for Tuesday, Nov. 7 from 3:15 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. at Franey Hall, 1501 South 48th Street. Teams of spirited students and faculty help coordinate the effort, often dressing in costumes to mirror the mood of the celebration. Throngs of supporters, family members and friends line up at multiple distribution stations to receive their packages. Red Wheel provides the frozen appetizers, entrees and desserts.

Technology Improving Fitness, Academics

November 01, 2017
By Deb Daley

Mercy High School understands that physical fitness not only is a key to a student’s healthy body, it can also improve academic performance. Using the latest in technology, the school has embarked on an effort to improve health-related fitness by monitoring heart rate. The program uses Interactive Health Technologies (IHT) Adidas Zone heart rate monitors generously donated by Blue Cross and Blue Shield. The Adidas Zone Monitors are used ensure that students are spending adequate time in their target heart rate zones when participating in Physical Education classes.

“I attended the Nebraska Society for Health and Physical Educators (SHAPE) conference last fall. I was able to participate in workshops that detailed the new national and state physical education standards, as well as how incorporating new technologies in the curriculum could help students to achieve the standards and improve outcomes. I knew if we could find the resources to purchase the technology, we could implement a program at our school, “said Chris Dunn, Health/ Physical Education Teacher.

She worked with Jim Pogge, Vice President of Advancement to identify a possible donor for the equipment. Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Nebraska, a lead provider of health insurance and supporter of health-related fitness, was pleased to step in.

“Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Nebraska seeks to support innovative, effective programs in health and wellness and education,” said Marjorie Maas, director of corporate social responsibility for Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Nebraska. “The use of these heart rate monitors alongside Mercy’s physical education curriculum is unique, and we believe it’ll help students better understand their bodies and how to get and stay fit.”

How it Works:

Dunn has programmed key heart zones on individual student monitors based on optimum heart rates for various activities. As the student undertakes each activity, the wrist monitor lights up in colors based on heart rate zones: blue—indicates a low impact activity; yellow—indicates moderate cardiovascular activity which will improve aerobic fitness, stamina and endurance; red—indicates vigorous or anaerobic activity which improves sport performance, speed and power. The goal is to stay in each zone for a designated percentage of the class period depending on that day’s activity.

The benefits of developing the cardiovascular system are well documented. Not only is there less risk of developing lifestyle-related diseases and conditions, but also a healthy cardiovascular system improves daily energy, endurance, aerobic capacity, muscular speed, and even mental function as students are more focused and alert.

Dunn is able to track each student’s progress and map entire classes data and trends.

Next, she is working with Paul Tschudin, Technology Director, to have the students create apps using the health data from the IHT Adidas Zone Monitors to solve real-world problems.

“This technology increases students’ engagement and enjoyment. They can truly improve health outcomes and increase academic achievement,” Dunn added.

Mercy Inducts 27 Students into National Honor Society

October 31, 2017
By Deb Daley

Twenty-seven students—six seniors and twenty-one juniors-- were inducted into Mercy High School’s McAuley Chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS) on November 8.  

Students were selected based on four key criteria

  • Scholarship (a cumulative grade point of 3.5 or higher);
  • Service (30 hours of service in the last 18 months),
  • Leadership and involvement (extracurricular activities); and
  • Character.

The keynote address was given by alumna Christine Gonderinger ’12 who will focus on the theme for the evening: “NHS: Students of Faith, Action, Results.”

New members of the National Honor Society include:


Jeana Abboud

Michaela Cosgrove

Jessica DeGeorge

Hope Fett

Elizabeth Ronayne

Bianca Santiago


Jenna Bies

Adeline Costello

Emily Erlbacher

Jordan Fett

Claire Fink

Mayela Hernandez

Kiley Hoge

Susan Huggins

Anna Janda

Emma Nebel

Uyen Nguyen

Megan Oswald

Audra Pflug

Alexia Rains

Maggie Reinard

Elyse Schweikert

Kate Tietjen

Hanna Stec

Catherine Tangeman

Allison Vana

Emma Weis

Recent Posts

11/21/17 - By Deb Daley
11/7/17 - By Deb Daley
11/2/17 - By Deb Daley
11/1/17 - By Deb Daley
10/31/17 - By Deb Daley
10/30/17 - By Deb Daley
10/12/17 - By Deb Daley
10/6/17 - By Deb Daley
10/6/17 - By Deb Daley
10/2/17 - By Deb Daley